Tidewater Foundation distributes funds

by Lisa Hinton-Valdrighi

KILMARNOCK—Representatives from schools, museums and community organizations from across the Northern Neck and Middle Peninsula gathered February 22 at the Lancaster Community Library for the Tidewater Foundation’s annual distribution of grants.

Established more than 60 years ago, the Tidewater Foundation helps to foster cultural enrichment and support precollege education, said president Ammon G. Dunton Jr. Additionally, over the past few years, the foundation has supported Rappahannock Community College’s nursing program.

The foundation presents its grants around this time every year to dozens of non-profits through proceeds from the Holly Ball, a debutante gala for college freshmen held during Christmas week.

“This year for some reason, it was the lowest attendance we’ve ever had,” said Dunton. “We had hoped to increase our scholarships but were unable to.”

To maintain the level of giving that the foundation has done in past years, money had to “be taken from Tidewater [Foundation’s] reserve fund to add to the gifts,” he said.

Some 22 organizations from Lancaster, Northumberland, Middlesex, Richmond and Essex counties received grants. Among the schools receiving grants are Chesapeake Academy, St. Margaret’s School, Aylett Country Day School, Christchurch School and Rappahannock

Community College.

Libraries and museums receiving grants are the Lancaster Community Library, Steamboat Era Museum, Richmond County Museum, Kilmarnock Museum, Reedville Fishermen’s Museum, Northern Neck Farm Museum, Morattico Waterfront Museum and Mary Ball Washington Museum & Library.

Musical and cultural programs receiving scholarships are Northern Neck Orchestra, Rappahannock Foundation for the Arts, Northumberland Elementary School music program, Lancaster High School band program and Lancaster Middle School band program.

The foundation also supports the Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Society, the Northumberland County Historical Society, Jacob’s Ladder and Cub Scout Pack 222 of Lively.

From left, representatives of organizations recently receiving grants from the Tidewater Foundation are (front row) Patricia Wilson, Charles Sydnor, Eric Jacobson, Margaret Forrester, Tidewater Foundation president Ammon G. Dunton Jr., Jamie Stalnaker, Lee Langston-Harrison, Stephen Davenport and Candee Pevahouse; (next row)Tara Garner, Julianne Keesee, Kenneth Hammell, W. Aubrey Hall, Augusta Sellew, Tonya Carter, Donna McGrath, Kenny Flester and Karen Hart. Photo by Lisa Hinton-Valdrighi

Article reprinted from The Rappahannock Record.